i did it, it’s done

For any paralegals/legal assistants, there is an opening for great job in Downtown Los Angeles!

I rounded up all my courage and gave notice last week.

I waited what seemed like ages until Boss arrived in the office.  All the while my leg was nervously tapping and my stomach hurt.  I needed it to be over.

I kept it private and short.  Told him that I enjoyed working here, that he was a great person to work for and one of the most honorable people I have ever met, which was why it was so hard to tell him.  I think he appreciated all these truths but I could tell he was getting nervous.  Heavier breathing, perhaps bit of fear of what I was about to say, a look that screamed, “What are you trying to get at?”  But me even more so.  I told him that there were some personal changes in my life over the past year causing me to reevaluate my life’s trajectory, and felt that at this time I needed to pursue some other life goals. When I got to the point where I told him that I wasn’t leaving for another 2 months and that I would be here for most, if not all, of our upcoming trial and to help with any transition, it calmed both of us.  He asked what I was going to do and I told him that I was going to do a dream of a solo trip around the world.  Boss was immediately supportive and told me how great that was, and how this was a once in a lifetime chance.  I told him that I felt it may be too…no better time than now.

In the end, it went amazingly well…after I finally got the words out.  I kind of knew it would.  Boss is great.  It was more the fear of “abandoning” him that gripped me.  Which  would explain my cracking voice and the near tears on my end???

“Behind every relationship problem is a sweaty 10-minute conversation you’ve been trying to avoid.  Do it now.” -Gay and Kathlyn Hendrick

(Thanks MP!)

Dreaming of innumerable days, gazing at the stars like this….

Photo by Howdy, I’m H. Michael Karshis on Flickr

This was shot in Joshua Tree National Park, only 2 hours from me but you get the point.

2 responses to “i did it, it’s done

  1. It’s so funny how we’re all petrified to tell people out plans yet people generally tend to be so supportive, knowing it’s such a hard decision to make.

Leave a Reply

