a travelers wet dream…getting bumped

On June 10, 2008 on this blog, I wrote, “I keep hoping one day I will get bumped and reap the rewards” and published my popular post on “Airline bumping

It finally happened to me January 2009!  *happy dance*

How I did I manage this coup?  When the US Airways Charlotte – Los Angeles leg of my flight back from President Obama’s inauguration in DC.  Did I forget to mention that I had seated tickets in YELLOW for that amazing event?

The flight was totally overbooked.  They asked for 4 volunteers, I happened to be sitting close to the boarding gate desk.  You really should always be close to the desk.  Want to know why?  Because after the announcement, I stood up and started walking towards the desk (about 10 feet away), and this 60 year-old man (guessing) ran in front of me to be the first one at the desk!!!  Like stopped me in my tracks!  Apparently all daily niceties are thrown out the window when free flights come into play.  There is no chivalry in the airline bumping game, ladies!  Keep that in mind and be alert.  Everyone is out for themselves, even when people know that more than 1 volunteer is needed.

I digress.

They offered a free round trip anywhere in the 48 contiguous U.S. states that U.S. Airways flies and the next flight was only 1.5 hours later.  Score!

I became the proud bearer of a free round trip anywhere in the 48 contiguous United States that U.S. Airways flies.

I was almost, almost was able to implement a 2nd bump by going to the boarding gate desk for my next flight.  But I think 60 Year-Old Unchivalrous Guy beat me again.  You win this time!  *shakes fist*

Where did I go?  I originally wanted to use it for New England in the fall but there were complications coordinating with A’s Southwest free flight so we used Southwest to New York Islip for the fall foliage trip.  I used the US Airways free flight this past February 2010 to go to Seattle for the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics!

2 responses to “a travelers wet dream…getting bumped

  1. I love getting bumped, especially when they put you in a hotel room over night.

Leave a Reply

