shots shots shots shots shots shots, shots shots shots shots shots, shots shots shots shots shots…everybody!

Got 3 jabs in my arm yesterday and a Tootsie Pop.  They have banana now! It doesn’t taste too hot.

I lied.  I got 2 shots and one in pill form.  It’s weird to think that I will be ingesting typhoid, even if it is in a weakened state.  And I got 2 Tootsie Pops.  I only like the chocolate ones.

Here is a breakdown on the cost for vaccinations, aka “the damage”:

  • Visit/Consultation: $50
  • Hep A #2: $89
  • Polio: $60
  • Typhoid: $100 (I paid $18 more to get the pill form v. the shot but it lasts 5 years v. 2 years)

Total: $299

I’m going to see if I can get Japanese Encephalitis, Rabies, and anti-malarials in New Zealand or beyond, where hopefully it’s cheaper.  Here it is $290 x 2 doses, $250 x 3 doses, and humans are not supposed to take Doxycycline for more than 3 months at a time, respectfully.  I am going to check with my insurance to see if they cover the Hep B vaccine ($75 x 3 doses otherwise) and see if my doctor will write a prescription for anti-malarials, which should be covered.

Many thanks to Ronnie at Passport Health!  She talked to me for a long time and the shots didn’t really hurt.  Passport Health is located all over Los Angeles and on Wednesdays in Downtown LA.

3 responses to “shots shots shots shots shots shots, shots shots shots shots shots, shots shots shots shots shots…everybody!

  1. Damn, that’s ‘spensive!!!

    Shots Shots Shots reminds me of Monty Python’s Spam Spam Spam… 🙂

  2. we bought our malarial meds in south africa without a prescription (that’s how it’s done in johannesburg) and they were a lot less expensive… that might be the case in other places as well.

    • That’s what I was thinking too. Maybe in Bali because I think New Zealand is not that much cheaper than the US. Great to hear about someone who has actually done it!

Leave a Reply

